Re Resolution Of Melvin Cole Complaint 6 W 5th St. ID: 39467

From A Better Parkville - Transparency Search Tool
prev current thread (6) next


I understand he has concerns we cannot resolve to his satisfaction. I am not aware of anything else, however I'm sure some of us will hear about it if he does. Thanks


From: Lauren Palmer
Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 2:29 PM
To: Nan Johnston NJohnston@parkvillemo.gov ; Diane Driver DDriver@parkvillemo.gov ; Tina Welch- Personal Email Tinawelch93@redacted.com ; Dave Rittman - Personal Email dave@redacted.com ; Jim Werner JWerner@parkvillemo.gov ; Doug Wylie DWylie@parkvillemo.gov ; Robert Lock RLock@parkvillemo.gov ; Marc Sportsman MSportsman@parkvillemo.gov ; Greg Plumb GPlumb@parkvillemo.gov
Cc: Paul Giarratana pgiarratana@parkvillemo.gov ; Stephen Lachky SLachky@parkvillemo.gov ; Melissa McChesney mmcchesney@parkvillemo.gov ; Kevin L. Chrisman kchrisman@parkvillemo.gov ; Alysen Abel AAbel@parkvillemo.gov
Subject: RE: Resolution of Melvin Cole Complaint (6 W 5th St.)

Mayor,

The does address all of the property maintenance code violations. I can't say with certainty that Mr. Cole is satisfied, but we have addressed all of his other concerns. He is disappointed with maintenance of a sidewalk on 5th St., but Public Works made some minor repairs and explained our process for prioritizing sidewalk repairs. I understand that he is also unhappy with a fence that his neighbor is planning to construct. It's a private property issue, but we are aware and ensuring applicable codes are followed. The police have been involved and provided assistance to both parties in the various neighbor disputes. If you're aware of an outstanding issue that has not been addressed, please let me know.

Thanks,

Lauren


From: Nan Johnston
Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 2:24 PM
To: Lauren Palmer; Diane Driver; Tina Welch- Personal Email; Dave Rittman - Personal Email; Jim Werner; Doug Wylie; Robert Lock; Marc Sportsman; Greg Plumb
Cc: Paul Giarratana; Stephen Lachky; Melissa McChesney; Kevin L. Chrisman
Subject: RE: Resolution of Melvin Cole Complaint (6 W 5th St.)

Thank you for following up. Does this address ALL of Mr Cole's code concerns?


From: Lauren Palmer
Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 2:21 PM
To: Nan Johnston NJohnston@parkvillemo.gov ; Diane Driver DDriver@parkvillemo.gov ; Tina Welch- Personal Email Tinawelch93@redacted.com ; Dave Rittman - Personal Email dave@redacted.com ; Jim Werner JWerner@parkvillemo.gov ; Doug Wylie DWylie@parkvillemo.gov ; Robert Lock RLock@parkvillemo.gov ; Marc Sportsman MSportsman@parkvillemo.gov ; Greg Plumb GPlumb@parkvillemo.gov
Cc: Paul Giarratana pgiarratana@parkvillemo.gov ; Stephen Lachky SLachky@parkvillemo.gov ; Melissa McChesney mmcchesney@parkvillemo.gov ; Kevin L. Chrisman kchrisman@parkvillemo.gov
Subject: Resolution of Melvin Cole Complaint (6 W 5th St.)

Mayor and Board,

See the update below from Stephen on an issue I reported to you back in June regarding code complaints at 6 W 5th St. I applaud Stephen and the Community Development staff for being diligent here. This was a long-standing issue and a difficult neighbor dispute. The staff fairly and consistently enforced the applicable codes and gained compliance.

Let Stephen or me know if you have questions,

Lauren


From: Stephen Lachky
Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:51 AM
To: Lauren Palmer
Subject: RE: Response to Melvin Cole Complaint

Lauren,

I want to give you an update on the Case No. 15-07, the code violations at 6 W 5th St. that concerned Parkville resident Melvin Cole.

Myself, Paul Giarratana (Building Official) and James Hare (Code Enforcement Officer) went out to the property today to do a final inspection. On June 21, 2016 we provided the property owner ONE FINAL notice of thirty (30) days to abate the violations (finish sanding, priming and repainting the from porch, its columns and balusters), otherwise the owner would be summoned to appear in Parkville Municipal Court. Following our inspection this morning, we determined the property owner completed this remaining work and has no remaining Property Maintenance Code violations. We've drafted and will be mailing a letter of abatement to the property owner at 6 W 5th St. Feel free to pass this information along to the Mayor and Ward 1 Aldermen, or any other elected officials; and let me know if you have any questions.

BEFORE (6/20/16)

AFTER (7/26/16)

Stephen Lachky, AICP

Community Development Director | City of Parkville

8880 Clark Ave. | Parkville, MO 64152

t. 816-741-xxxx | slachky@redacted.gov


From: Lauren Palmer
Sent: Saturday, June 18, 2016 12:19 PM
To: Nan Johnston - Personal Email; Diane Driver - Personal Email; Tina Welch- Personal Email
Cc: Dave Rittman - Personal Email; Jim Werner - Personal Email; Doug Wylie - Personal Email; Robert Lock - Personal Email; Greg Plumb - Personal Email; Marc Sportsman - Personal Email; Stephen Lachky; Alysen Abel; Melissa McChesney; Kevin L. Chrisman
Subject: Response to Melvin Cole Complaint

Mayor and Ward 1 Aldermen,

Stephen met with Melvin Cole this week regarding the complaints outlined in his email of June 10, 2016 (attached). Stephen summarized the meeting and staff's response in the attached memo.

Also attached for reference is my memo from earlier this year regarding the traffic stop complaint that is mentioned in the email.

I cc'ed the rest of the Aldermen as an FYI in case Mr. Cole reaches out to them.

Please let Stephen or me know if you have questions.

Thanks,

Lauren

Lauren Palmer, ICMA-CM

City Administrator

City of Parkville

8880 Clark Avenue

Parkville, MO 64152

816-741-xxxx

lpalmer@parkvillemo.gov